Dizzy

June 29, 2010

Dizzy
Erin Kilmer

I am here, there,
everywhere
it seems some days

where I want to be
humming with the churn
of the dishwasher
and spinning around
dizzy in the laundry

and they are calling me
with glue bottles stuck shut
and scraped
knees and lost cups
and I am here with them

what I wanted
but dizzy, still, and hurrying

clatter on the table
with the plates and knives
and jug of milk
and when will Daddy be home

did you brush your teeth,
change your socks,
don’t wrestle in the living
room because I am here
wrestling with the pots and pans
underneath

and each day we are here,
and there, library, park,
hiding in the basement, sweeping
the floor and folding blankets

and it is me with
them and them with
me and that is what is meant,
what we are meant for,
never easy but worth it

water the tomatoes, knead
our daily bread and read living
Words and clear the table so
it can be a shipyard again until dinnertime

three meals around this table every day
and we grow, they grow, with
buttered toast and eggs scrambled
whisk falling on the floor, on
the baby

am I coordinated enough for this dance

I will find my footing,
and we will all be together
ringing round rosies and doing
all these good things while my head spins,

dizzy with all I have to do,
dizzy with all they teach me,
dizzy with grace

5 Responses to “Dizzy”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Melissa , Erin . Erin said: Dizzy– new poem– http://wp.me/sSp5E-dizzy […]

  2. Art said

    Hey you made use of a couple of my bad pictures…way cool. Great poem too!

  3. nance said

    i love the whole thing
    the words
    the photos
    the way you can call them ” a work of art” 🙂

  4. “never easy but worth it”

    i have to remember this. being dizzy with grace.

  5. Very, very, very good, Erin! Thank you so much for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

