Valley Deep

June 2, 2010

Valley Deep
by Erin Kilmer

It is only a shadow.
What is there to fear in a shadow?
No matter how dark,
how deep,
it is just a shadow,
and it cannot hurt us, not really.

I see it ahead–
valley and shadow–
and I do fear,
though I know a shadow is just
a substance-less thing.

I do not want to walk through the shadow.

I am afraid.

Walk with me, dear Shepherd?

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

3 Responses to “Valley Deep”

  1. What a lovely poem. I need to spend less time thinking about the shadow and more time reaching out for the Shepherd.

  2. Kathleen said

    You’re normal and not alone. None of us want to walk through the shadow. Through is the operative word though.

  3. Melo said

    I have to say, I think I love everything you write. I hope you feel his presence with you wherever you go, I hope you have that sense of nearness.

Leave a Reply

