The Box Elder Bug Song

April 29, 2010

The Box Elder Bug Song
by Erin Kilmer, age 13
(to be sung to the tune of “America the Beautiful”)


Oh disgusting for thin red stripes
Upon a black background
For skinny legs and small flat back
And head that looks around!

Box elder bug, box elder bug,
Please migrate off my shed!
And if you don’t, believe me,
I’LL STOMP ON YOUR FAT HEAD.

****for the story of the box elder bug song, visit my everyday blog.****

5 Responses to “The Box Elder Bug Song”

  1. Laura said

    Okay. Seriously. Did you have to include a PICTURE??!?! EW! I’m going to have nightmares!

  2. Art said

    What if Box elder bugs were really that big? Ew.

  3. Danielle said

    I think of this song every time a warm day leaves one side of my house covered in box elder bugs. Wasn’t there a 2nd verse inspired by a certain 6th grade boy EATING a box elder bug?

  4. Tammy said

    I think there was a second verse, too….oh the memories!

  5. Melo said

    We call these ‘Caragana Beetles’ here, but yeah, they do probably come from the ‘Box Elders’ which we call ‘Manitoba Maple’ here… considering how many I have in my house some years, and we only have a single Manitoba Maple a good soccer field or so away, I wonder what they really do love most. They seem to love the house best.

Leave a Reply

