His Imaginary Pet

April 6, 2010

His Imaginary Pet
Erin Kilmer

If Smaug were a robot dragon,
I expect he would
not be so witty,
for robots are not known
for their love of riddle-speak.

If Smaug were a robot dragon,
I expect he would
not be so prideful,
for robots are not known
for being puffed-up over jeweled coats.

If Smaug were a robot dragon,
I expect he would
not be so graceful,
for I have seen my son
drive his remote-control truck in my living room.

But if Smaug were a robot dragon,
I expect he would
let me have all the treasure,
for his five-year-old controller
is forever sharing his sparkle with me.

If Smaug were a robot dragon,
I expect we wouldn’t need
All that nonsense about plundering,
Flying arrows, or dragon carcasses.
Unless you’re a bad guy, of course.

********

Art has been reading The Hobbit to the boys, and Stinky is entirely fascinated by Smaug. Today he informed me that Smaug was a remote-controlled robot dragon, controlled, of course, by Stinky himself. Made me laugh and inspired a little silliness.

4 Responses to “His Imaginary Pet”

  1. Laura said

    I have no clue what Smaug is, but Sammy is adorable. 🙂

  2. the wonderful world of child
    you brought it alive here

  3. lorrie said

    Oh what good fun! I like. Thanks for coming over to my place today… love making new friends!

Leave a Reply

