Run

March 24, 2010

Run
by Erin Kilmer

another day
living with pain
the stairs a mountain
my clothing a torture device

i walk as someone twice my age
as i carry my baby
and i wonder what people think

beauty from pain
is a beautiful idea
until the pain is in my joints
until it is exhausting to stand up
until i start to feel consumed by it

but oh, His pain
His agony borne for no fault of His
His cross– my cross
nails driven through flesh and bone

anguish and horror
hanging there
to save me from pain

i hobble to Him
in all my deep need
and He bears my grief, my sorrow

and one day
i will run to Him
and i will never hurt again

Leave a Reply

