Recipe for a Boy’s Summer

July 2, 2010

Recipe for a Boy’s Summer
Erin Kilmer

take one July day.
add a bucketful of sunshine
and blend well.

mix in a splash of hose-water,
a sprinkle of grass-clippings,
and the juice of one watermelon slice
dripping down a boy’s chin.

in a separate bowl,
stir together four lightning bugs
with a tablespoon of good clean dirt,
half a dozen mosquito bites,
some fresh sweet corn,
and a nice, cool glass of ice tea.

combine and mix well.

pack into a wading pool or four-man tent,
glaze with a nice SPF 65,
and dust lightly with beach sand.

allow to bake all day long
until an internal temperature of
100 and humid is reached.

garnish with happy smiles,
and serve immediately.

(other ingredients may be substituted.
for best results,
try a different combination daily.)

********

written for L.L. Barkat’s Random Acts of Poetry prompt at High Calling Blogs. The prompt was “a tablespoon of summer“– to take a small thing about summer and write a poem. I cheated a little, because I loved the whole tablespoon idea and the recipe just kind of followed. Lots of sweet little summer moments are included, so I hope it works! 🙂

Photos by my husband; I realized after I uploaded that I used my watermark instead of his. I’m sure he’ll forgive me. Right, dear? 🙂

8 Responses to “Recipe for a Boy’s Summer”

  1. Deborah said

    Love it! 🙂

  2. Very cute!

    I especially liked the lightning bugs stirred in with dirt. I’m thinking that is grist for a poem of its own. 🙂

  3. I definitely like your treatment of this…

  4. Sounds like my house – boys, bugs, and dirt. Nice poem.

  5. the grit of sand on top of sunscreen
    timeless
    seasonal.
    wonderful
    ( 65?)

  6. […] Dance Recital Erin’s Recipe for a Boy’s Summer Sandra’s Playing with Poetry Laura’s The Day After the Fourth of July Simple Country Girl’s […]

  7. […] On Tuesday, June 29th, Art took the boys to what was supposed to be a hike hosted by one of our local park organizations. The experience was what we refer to around here as a “fail.” They couldn’t find the group; most of the trails were under water (we’ve had just an eensy bit of rain recently), and the mosquitoes were out in force. Still, they did some exploring and Art took some nice pictures, which you can see if you visit my poetry blog. […]

Leave a comment